Noisy Neighbours

For the second time in my apartment living experience, I’m dealing with noisy neighbours. The first time was years ago, and it was one guy who just didn’t seem to recognize how loud his stereo was – after a few trips to his front door, and a visit from the apartment manager, things were fine. This time, it’s different.
I’ve been in this building for nearly two months now. The first few weeks were fine. One suite below us had their stereo up too loud, and when my girlfriend went down to request an adjustment in the volume, they apologized, and that seemed to be the end of it.
Towards the end of the first month, I bumped into a resident who was in the process of moving out. His words were, “I’m done with this place,” as he stood next to me on the elevator. I asked why, and he inquired if I was new in the building. After I told him it was my first month, he warned me that this was, “a place for young people.” He went on to claim there were loads of parties, and little done by management. He recommended pounding on doors, threatening to phone the police, and telling the party people I have children who are sick and trying to rest. I shrugged off his warnings, and proceeded on to my suite. That night, the parties began.
It was the same apologetic suite my girlfriend had already visited. I went around 8:00 and met four people on their way in to the party. They weren’t speaking English and when I asked them to turn the stereo down, they nodded then muttered something in a different language and laughed. The noise died down after midnight.
Not too long after this we heard another party happening. This one was louder then the first, so I marched down to the same noisy apartment. When I reached the door, I couldn’t hear a sound – I headed down another floor and it took all of a second to locate the source. Two floors below my suite, and this place was thumping. Not surprisingly, the tenant was very apologetic, and assured me the noise would stop. It didn’t. We both went down, reminded them of the noise bylaw, and they seemed to pack it in around 2 a.m.
This second party appeared to have guests from the first, so we paid management a trip and filed a formal complaint. We were advised to call the police as it would speed up an eviction notice.
A few days later a different apartment went through a similar song and dance as the first two. Same deal: a couple visits, and a formal complaint. Since then, not a peep.
And when I was confident things had all quieted down, the first apartment fired up the bass thumping hits for a collection of dipshits who still listen to 50 cent. Lovely.
I swung by this apartment the other morning while I was trying to have my coffee. The humble tenant invited me in to let them know exactly what level his stereo should be at. I declined. He then asked where I lived. None of his business. Finally, he suggested it was fine to have the stereo up this loud because it’s the morning, not the evening. I disagreed.  It told him my child was sick and in bed, and it seemed to do the trick.
From all of this, I see a throughline. It’s never their fault. I have heard plenty of reasons. One guy told his stereo was at the lowest level, “it’s at one,” was his defense. I offered up the option of, “zero.” Others just can’t seem to believe it’s as loud as I claim it is, even though it can be heard all over the floor, and all over the floors above. And of course, the time. “It’s only…” fill in the blank with any time of day. In this moron’s mind, it’s always time to party.
If my knocking on your door is disturbing your party, then rent a house, preferably one on a farm, where you can make all the noise you like. And why are people still listening to 50 cent?

About Bryan Candy

I currently live in Port Moody, and work in Vancouver. During the week, I teach English to international students and act as their events coordinator too. In my spare time, I enjoy weightlifting, watching television and movies, and reading and writing. On my website you'll find blog posts about things I enjoy, as well as information about my published work. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Noisy Neighbours

  1. Jared says:

    Bryan,

    I know exactly what you are going through, we went through hell with our last neighbours for 4 miserable years. More then parties though, it was children running around and screaming all hours of the night, fighting, arguing and shouting, lots of random banging and slamming!! I went over there many times, many lame apologies and excuses, called the cops many times, they take a while to come and don’t do much of anything. If I didn’t have a family I would have taken care of them right away but…you know how it goes. I really truly feel your pain and can honestly tell you the only answer is to NEVER….EVER share a wall with anyone!

    – Jared

Leave a Reply

